What is it that makes young people have the sudden urge to pick up a cigarette?

Note: I have nothing against people who smoke. These are just my thoughts and opinions.

Over the weekend I was at a friends 21st birthday and something that I noticed was the number of smokers. I have nothing against people who smoke, it’s their lives and they can do whatever they want – who am I to dictate what they can and can’t do?

During the party, the backyard was engulfed with smoke – literally every second person was smoking. At the beginning I would move away from people who were smoking because I couldn’t handle it, but as the night went on I was immune to the smell and didn’t seem to mind it.

There was a moment when I was sitting with friends and having a chat and I had this sudden urge to take a puff. But I didn’t, and I’m very glad I didn’t.

I personally am not a fan of smoking. I have tried a cigarette before – multiple actually. Happened right after high school during schoolies, that was my week to do what ever I wanted to do and be carefree. I do not regret it at all.

That week taught me that smoking was not my thing and I really came to my sense after that. If anything, I was being hypocritical. My dad has been smoking since he was a kid and ever since I could talk, I’ve been trying to convince him to stop. But it’s hard.

Smoking is an addiction and it’s something that can’t be stopped with a flick of a switch. It takes a lot of time and convincing – I’m still working on it.

When I asked my dad why and how he started smoking, he told me that it was normal in his day for kids his age to smoke –  a form of stress relief and was even sociable.

I guess growing up in a low socioeconomic environment and with limited education is the reason behind dad smoking. I mean, back then not a lot of information about the damages smoking could do to ones health was out. There was no information, education and warnings.

Nowadays, there are plenty of warnings. They’re all over cigarette packages, on our TVs, radios and newspapers. They’re everywhere, and yet people chose to ignore them and I don’t understand why.

With such an educated society now, why do people – young people in particular chose to smoke? Is it because they think it’s ‘cool’? Is it a form of relief from stress? What is it that makes young people have the sudden urge to pick up a cigarette and smoke?

Are we not smart enough to see what smoking can do to someone?

During schoolies basically everyone was smoking and I felt left out. So I smoked. That was the reason, but like I said – I do not regret it. I’ve learnt from my past and I’m so glad I did.

I guess it’s a tough question and I’ll probably never find out the answer.

Note: Featured picture is from schoolies
Leave a Reply

