Week two and I already feel behind

Last week was my first week back at university and being a student again. It feels like ages since I last studied and had to do a reading for a class.

I’m going to be honest, it’s second week and I already feel behind. I think it’s a combination of the new ‘trimester’ system UTS has going, the five month break I had and the fact that during my break I was interning/working everyday.

My first class I felt clueless, I read all my readings and watched the film for the week and yet I felt like I knew nothing. Actually, it wasn’t just my first class, it was the whole week that felt like such a drag and pointless. My first day back I went through four cups of coffee, I wouldn’t recommend that to anyone. I got home and crashed straight away because of all the caffeine I had.

The transition from working everyday to having to go back to studying is a very difficult one, It makes me feel like uni is holding me back and I find myself thinking I already know what my lecturers and tutors are teaching me – but really I don’t know, It seems I’ve grown a big head because of the experience I did over my break.

I know I have a lot to learn, and I need to finish this degree – not just because my parents want me to, but as reassurance for the future, but I feel like if I was to go job hunting now I could possibly have a job and do what I love instead of falling asleep in a lecture hall or classroom.

But, I’m going to power through and hopefully survive the rest of my degree!

Since it’s my last full term as a university student (next semester I’ll be doing one subject) I thought I’d make the most of it and be a uni student. I’m going to make an effort to catch up with people, be more involved with the university, go to uni parties and have a social life on weekends.

Last year I just went to class and went straight home or to work. I spent my weekends at home with the family or catching up on work, interned as much as I could – on any free day I had and did not see anyone or have a social life.

So far it’s been good, I’ve seen and caught up with more people than I did all of last year, had more of a social life with family and friends, I’m a mentor to first year journalism students and I’ve been going to as many university events as I can fit in.

One thing still remains the same, I’m kept constantly busy and that’s the way I like it.

2 thoughts on “Week two and I already feel behind

Add yours

  1. As someone who ditched journalism studies to work full-time in journalism, I completely understand your pain about wanting to work full-time now on the back of your practical experience. The people I work with didn’t care that I didn’t have a degree in journalism, they just took me on as someone who could learn it all on the job. But keep at your degree while you can. Full-time work and part-time study is a tough gig!

    1. It’s really good to hear your personal experience! I’m going to keep at my degree and hopefully find some part-time/freelance industry work within the next few months…just to get me job ready! Thank you for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

