Shocked, disgusted and appalled, only some of the feelings I had.

There was an incident yesterday that keeps returning to my mind. Yesterday was my 20th birthday, and to celebrate a group of my girlfriends and I decided to head to Opera Bar for drinks and nibbles.

We caught the train in and walked from Circular Quay station. I must admit, my outfit choice was a little OTT – but why should it not be? It’s my birthday and pretty much the one time of the year where I get all dressed up. As we were walking, there were a few heads that turned our way from all sorts of people. Understandable, like I said OTT outfit.

Out of the corner of my eye I could see a man approaching me from the left. This man looked like he was the age of my father, he was a well dressed 50-something year old white male. He came up and said something to me, which I don’t remember the exact words. He proceeded to ask me why I was all dressed up, I told him it was my birthday and I was heading out for drinks with friends. He said “oh wow, congratulations on your birthday, here have a birthday kiss.”

He grabbed my hand and pulled me in for a kiss. I pushed away and turned my head, so he planted a kiss on my cheek, whispered in my ear “I love your breast” and walked away.

I was in shock, disgusted and appalled. My sister and friends were in shock that some man had approached me and kissed me. When I told them about what he whispered that caused anger.

It was one of the worst experience I’ve had, I’ve had incidences where I’d get a honk and whistle here and there, but never like that. I’m fed up at how people think”I love your breast” or anything else inappropriate is some sort of compliment. F-off.

Think about what you say or do before it happens, because let me ask you this. Would you like it if your sister, daughter or niece had the same experience?

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

