Busy as a bee

I feel like I’ve let some people down lately. You can never really win, there’s always someone who isn’t going to be happy with your decision to do or not do something.

For those who know me, I love graining experience and finding ways to improve and develop my skills. A few months ago, I met this person at a forum and introduced myself. I asked if he had any opportunities for me at the local radio station and he had let someone go for me. He offered me a position as a production assistant for his show on a Sunday night.

I was overly excited and accepted it. At the time I thought it was the perfect thing, I hadn’t had much experience in the radio industry and for me to be able to observe and hopefully use the position as a stepping stone for me to go to the newsroom.

My dad wasn’t happy with it. He didn’t like the fact that it wasn’t paid, and that I would have to travel every Sunday for about 20 minutes for a 6PM-9PM shift. Dad is usually all for my sister and I to gain experience but I guys because I had just quit my paying job in retail and my sister had also quit her paid internship, he was freaking out about money.

I mean, my sister and I have always paid for our own stuff, shoes, clothes, uni stuff and more. My parents supplied the house we live in, the food we have and holidays. Now the fact that my sister and I didn’t have a stable income, he was kinda freaking out on how to support us. But my sister and I have money saved, it won’t last forever, but it’ll last till we find another job.

I’ve been a bit picky on what sort of job I’ve been applying for. I’m so over retail, 6 years in the business and I’m slightly over it. I’m not saying I think I’m too good for it, but I think I’ve learnt enough from that industry. I’ve been trying to find work that is more industry related, something in the communication industry. But it’s very hard.

Anyways, today I just quit the position as a production assistant. I’ve been feeling overwhelmed in the last few weeks, first we lost my grandma and that just meant a lot of family time – I’ve missed two pray sessions and I’ve always been the type to put family first. I’ve been doing two internships, Seven News and Studio 10 and I’ve been flooded with uni work and uni is just about to start. I haven’t has time to myself really, only to write blogs where I can reflect on things.

This week, I have two assignments due, three days of internships and two days of uni. It’s going to be a hectic week. If I survive I’m going to be pretty impressed with myself.

I feel like I’ve let people down because of being unable to commit to things. My friends don’t even talk about their problems to me anymore because they assume I’m too busy to listen to them – which sometimes they are right, and whenever they do approach and ask me stuff they apologise for annoying me.

Some even say “I don’t even message you anymore because I know you’re a busy bee”

I just need to learn to balance things out and make sure I’m committed to things. Don’t get me wrong, I’m so grateful to have met all these wonderful people that have helped me in my journalism life and feeling really lucky for all the experiences I’ve had. But maybe for now, I might hold off on searching for something new and wait for what I’m doing now to finish or develop into something.

But, I guess this is the life of a university student!

 

2 thoughts on “Busy as a bee

Leave a Reply

