Internship: Day five

Guys!!!! I have amazing news (for me). But you’ll have to read this post to find out what it is!

Today was my official last day with The Macarthur Chronicle Newspaper. What an amazing week it has been. I know i’ve said it before, but i’ll say it again, one day working in the newsroom was so much better than a whole semester combined!

I’ve learnt so much while working with the Chronicle. Such an amazing team, I am so grateful they let me in. Everyone is so nice, so helpful and even though they are very busy, take the time to explain things to me when they can.

If you are a local in the area, don’t throw away your paper, take a look inside. In next weeks edition three of my stories will be published! How exciting is that?!

That would mean I will have a total of four official published works! Not so bad for a first year journalism, second year communications student.

Today was a pretty laid back day. I only had one story to concentrate on, but I had to wait for the person to call through. My morning consisted of me finding numbers and names for a friend of the editor, I was just helping her out. It was great because I was expanding my research skills.

Working here this week has improved my phone voice. A lot. I’m so much more confident when it comes to talking to people I don’t know or someone I am going to interview. The only thing is, I need to learn how to write faster/ learn short hand. Which I will one day, hopefully soon though.

Today I also completed my first voxpop which was great. I also ran into my first story talent. It was really good to see her and catch up.

ANYWAYS ON TO MY GOOD NEWS. I’ve been allowed an extension on my stay with The Macarthur Chronicle! Two days a week just for the holidays. I am so excited, I’ll be kept busy, and won’t get too lazy during the holiday!

On Sunday I leave for Canberra for my internship with Parliament House’s Press Gallery for 2GB. I’ll try and keep you guys updated, but we shall see!

Then when I come back from there I’m back at work with the Chronicle. So I’m so excited guys!

This week has been amazing and the I am so excited for the next few weeks! I’m loving all this practical experience i’m getting.

P.s. Now that i’ll be working more frequently (for a few weeks) with the Chronicle I won’t be updating daily, hopefully once or twice a week!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

