Life’s a Challenge

Last Friday I received an email about the internship I applied for. If you read my earlier post, you would know how surprised I was when I read the email which invited me to go to an interview.

I was being honest when I thought I failed the test. The first current affairs test was brutal for me, which I really am disappointed in myself. I thought I’d know more about politics and government.

Anyways, I was invited to go to an interview with two others on Monday and I had to come prepared with a pitch(s). I was in no shape to come up with a pitch, to the end of that week I had my wisdom teeth removed. I was always drowsy, couldn’t think straight, in a lot of pain and I was pretty much a sleep for 3 out of the 4 days.

But, I’m always up for a challenge. I replied to the email letting them know to be expecting me at 9am Monday morning.

Thankfully by Sunday I was feeling a little bit better. So I had time to come up with a pitch, write some notes down and do some uni work. I only came up with one idea, and technically speaking I should have come up with a back up plan, just in case they didn’t like it. But I thought it was a good pitch, different to what the publication would normally do, and it would attract a wider audience group.

Monday came and what a morning it was. I always plan to get a Β place least a 15minutes before the required time, because I face a lot, and I mean A LOT of complications throughout the day. I wouldn’t call it bad luck, I like to think of it as a challenge. But man, someone out there really likes to challenge me.

I got off the train at central and ran to get the light rial, no joke I missed it by half a second. The doors closed on me when I got there. But that’s okay because there was another one coming in 5 minutes. Five minutes came and nothing, the light rail came 10 minutes later and you’ll never believe it, it had technical problems, so everyone got off the train and waited at central. Two minutes later and another came, everyone was fighting for a place on it. I couldn’t even get a foot in the door, so I had to wait for another.

By this time, it was about 9:45am, I emailed the interviewers letting them know I may be running late. I finally got on the light rail and just made it to the interview with a minute to spare. Want to know what else? My face decided to start to show bruising, but thankfully some created things called make up.

I think the interview went well, it was a causal interview, I talked about selfies, shoes and my ability to run really fast in heels. I think they really liked my pitch, which is great. One of the panellist told me that I just scraped through with the current affairs test, but my writing sections and personally made up for it.

By the end of this week we will find out if we got a place. But like I said before, what an amazing opportunity that was. I’m happy I made it this far and If I don’t get it? there’s always next time and many other opportunities out there.

You’ve just got to stay positive xx

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

