Milking our way through Kiama

NOTE: you might not understand my heading, but if you keep reading you’ll get it

The things I do to get a story! Yesterday a friend and I travelled down to Kiama on a 2 and a half hour train ride not knowing what to expect.

We had been allocated a suburb to write a news story about for a university assessment. At first, I wasn’t too happy about getting Kiama. I had only been to Kiama once before in my life, and I knew nothing about the area and didn’t know anyone.

Before we left, I did as much research on the area as I could. From what I had gathered, I was expecting a lot of older people, as people come to Kiama to retire, a peaceful suburb with not much that happens. I had read the local paper The Kiama Independent and the first story that came up was about a new doctor in town. So my hopes on getting a story were pretty low.

I am so glad we took the time and travelled down. We met amazing locals and the environment was so peaceful and clean to work in, even on a foggy rainy day.

We kept our eyes out for anything interesting, something that kept on popping up were images and mascots of cows. There was even one painting where they made the cow out to be some form of god.

We had no idea what that meant, but when we were at the Kiama visitors centre we found out that Kiama has a huge dairy industry and that it wasn’t all about the blowhole and that Kiama had huge farm lands. We made a joke about ‘milking’ the story about the cows (what a pun).

The locals in the area were amazing, they helped us out a lot, and before we knew it we had about 15 stories between us. It was such a small and tight community that we’d be talking to one person, and then they’d refer us to someone who works in the council who could help us. Then the council person would recommend talking to the police and other places to find stories.

In my past experience working with the police, it wasn’t pleasant. My last story I was trying to gather statistics on crime in a particular suburb. I had called the local police station and asked if it was possible for me to book an appointment with someone who could help me, they said I didn’t need to book and that I could come in whenever I wanted, so I did. I went in and no joke, it took me longer to find a parking spot than staying in the police station. I was literally in the station for 2 minutes where they told me I had to book an appointment and talk to this one guy. When I got home I called the person, where I was told he was on leave. It took him two weeks to get back to me where he said he couldn’t talk to me. How pissed off would you have been?

Anyways, we went to the Kiama police station and they were amazing, so very helpful and really good looking. He pretty much told us that nothing really interesting happens in Kiama, it’s small and that there’s a lot of older people so not much trouble happens. He pretty much said we were the most exciting thing about his day.

I met this amazing woman named Barbra, and we pretty much clicked. I’m so hoping I can write about her story and movement. She has this amazing connection and such positivity.

I love Kiama, I plan to retire there. Love it!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

